Witches and Wizards and Dolls…Oh My!

22 Mar

Both Mr Monster and I are unashamed fans of anything to do with Oz. We were both spellbound by the original as kids, terrified by the Wheelers in The Return to Oz, and the Mr has been to see Wicked on stage on many occasions. It was inevitable then that we would be drawn to the new movie featuring James Franco as The Great and Powerful Oz, and the gorgeous Michelle Williams as Glinda the good.

Oz-The-Great-and-Powerful-wallpapers-4Date night was declared and after a cheap and cheerful trip to Frankie and Benny’s we headed to the posh bit of our local cinema to have a cheeky glass of wine and some complimentary chips and chocolate in their plush leather seats; making it quite worth the extra few quid they charge for the pleasure!

It was an odd film in some ways with some great nods to the style of the original, quite cheesy with some proper hammed up performances. It gives the background of how the wizard comes to be in Oz and the transformation of the good witch Theodora played by Mila Kunis (a particular favourite of Mr Monster) into the evil, green-skinned Wicked Witch of the West who was the stuff of our childhood nightmares.

It was an enthralling couple of hours heading back to Oz and I highly recommend a watch while it’s still in the cinema. Rather fittingly, the story starts with a black and white James Franco working as a dodgy magician in a circus sideshow in the early 1900’s. With my current sideshow starlets project on the go, it was rife with inspiration for me and I found myself trying to work out how costumes were made and coming up with new ideas for the remaining dolls of my Ten-in One.  The film quickly moves into glorious technicolour once the wizard crash lands in Oz. He meets three of the four witches of the land, all very different, but all beautifully outfitted and with defined characteristics.

oz-posters-witches-poster-mila-michelle-rachel__oPt

It got me to thinking that one day I might like to make them in doll form. A little Oz of my own, good vs evil played out in fabric. I’ve got so many ideas of projects I want to work on, if only there were enough hours in the day!

One Response to “Witches and Wizards and Dolls…Oh My!”

  1. scillagrace March 22, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    Can’t bring myself to patronize a Disney version….like I couldn’t stomach the new Willy Wonka, but I loved Wicked. I think the doll versions of good/evil will be smashing!

Leave a Reply

