The Sideshow Starlets

9 Mar

My brain and my sewing machine have both been whirring since I last blogged. I’m so excited about the new doll venture and I’m just bursting with inspiration. Feedback has been great on Elsie Inkwell and she won’t be alone for long.

I’ve become a little obsessed with the realm of circus sideshows, particularly those from days gone by. I dipped my toe into the history of them while researching the tradition of a tattooed lady and I’m steadily learning so much more. They’ve been around since the 1600’s but rose in popularity during Victorian times, showcasing human oddities and biological rarities of every kind, some more genuine than others.

Dales-Bros-Sideshow-1948

Often patrons paid an entry fee to a tent displaying ten acts at a time. These were known as a ‘Ten-in-One’, which led me to the idea of creating a Ten-in-One of my very own. Ten gorgeous little sideshow starlets, unique little bundles of grease paint and hocus-pocus.

The second act is under construction and should be making her debut sometime tomorrow. The rest of the Mistress of Monsters Sideshow will be hot on her heels so stay tuned…

 

3 Responses to “The Sideshow Starlets”

  1. scillagrace March 9, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    Interesting idea… Lydia the Tattooed Lady humming in my head…there is a dark side to that history as well, however.

    • mistressofmonsters March 9, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      Of course, there are many sides to a sideshow. Exploitation certainty, but also enabled some to make a decent living. I love social history so this is a good chance to explore a really interesting part of it.

Leave a Reply

