My Dolly Daydream Comes to Fruition

22 Feb

I’ve been promising a change of direction for some time now, and after a few false starts I’m finally ready to unveil my latest work.

For a while I’ve been feeling that even the name ‘Mistress of Monsters’ tends to push me towards a certain type of creation, and that I want to break out of the pigeon-hole I’ve created for myself. I love monsters and cute fluffyness, but I also love vintage fashion, pin-up glamour and all things cheeky and feminine. Besides this, I’ve wanted to work in some of the new skills I’ve developed over my three years of monster-making. It just wasn’t possible to incorporate that into my work given my back catalogue.

I was massively inspired by a pair of character dolls in my parents display cabinet which caught my eye when I was home at Christmas, and from these I’ve managed to develop a new signature shape. It’s going to take some refining and perfecting, but take a look at the first in my new line of creations.

New Doll

New Doll

So I’ve (hopefully) kept it recognisable as my signature style, but gone for a new shape in the ‘big head, small body’ kind of thing. I’ve used needle-felting to create her a little hairdo, and dressed her up in a saucy little outfit and matching jewellery. Once that was done, she was ready for her close-up!

New DollHer neck is a bit floppy so I need to work on strengthening that up, and I’m aware that as a first attempt at something new, there are a few things I could do better next time round, but now that I’ve completed one, I’m bursting with ideas for the next.

You might find over the next little while that the blog might go through a little bit of re-branding, I don’t know if I can keep the name ‘Mistress of Monsters’ as I move forwards with my more doll-like creations, but rest assured you will be the first to know if anything changes!

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “My Dolly Daydream Comes to Fruition”

  1. chiccityvintage February 22, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Love this doll!!! Very cute.

  2. scillagrace February 22, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    I definitely like her personality!

  3. Patch February 22, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    She’s great. Like her style and attitude and looking forward to seeing how this new range will develop. But please don’t give up on the monsters. So much handmade stuff is directed at women/girls. There is very little for men/boys and your monsters appeal to both which is a huge plus.

    • mistressofmonsters February 22, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

      That’s a good point. I’m sure I’ll still make the monsters. Just need something fresh for now but I’m confident I’ll still want to make them. x

  4. twistnpout February 27, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    How cute is she?

Leave a Reply

