I’m Back!

21 Feb

Hello my lovely fabric fans. I’m sorry for my prolonged absence from blogging. I think I’ve been in a bit of a hibernation mode while we have a rotten English winter and just haven’t felt that I’ve had much I want to share with the world. Besides that, Mr Monster and I have been doing a lot of work on Monster HQ, painting walls, building furniture, and generally making ourselves a lovely little home. The upshot of this being that my craft room became the place where IKEA boxes go to die. A total dumping ground, meaning that crafting was impossible. Now that it’s all coming together however, sewing has resumed and I’m going in a bit of a new direction so watch this space for forthcoming creations!

One thing I have been busy with since I last blogged has been my fitness. You might remember that I was shocked in early January to discover that I was technically in the category of being obese, and was feeling the need to take action. A month and a half later,  having also raised over £200 for Cancer Research UK by completing their Dryathlon (no booze for all of January), I am back within the normal range for my 5ft 3 frame. Check this out:

1st Jan                                                   17th Feb                                

Weight – 71.7kg (11st 3)                   68.5kg (10st 7)                    

Chest – 90cm (35.4 inches)                 87cm (34.2 inches)               

Waist – 88cm (34.6 inches)                80cm (31.4 inches)                

Hips – 103cm (40.5 inches)                84cm (33 inches)                  

Thighs – 63cm (24.8 inches)              60cm (23.6)                             

We also measured my body fat at various points around my body ;

Iliac crest – 22mm                                     17mm                                           

Subscapular – 24mm                                 18mm                                          

Bicep – 11mm                                               8mm                                          

Tricep – 23mm                                             19mm                                          

Body fat Percentage – 34.33%        31%

Fat Mass – 24.65kg (3.9 stone)              21.26kg (3.3 stone)              

So my total weight loss may not be amazing, but I’ve lost 36cm (14 inches) from my body, so as you can imagine, my clothes fit better and I feel like a different person. Not bad in a month and a half. I will be continuing my efforts, drinking a lot less, eating better, and exercising regularly. Hopefully at the six month mark I can give you more good results!

3 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Andy Valentine February 21, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    19cm on the hips is RIDICULOUS. So proud of you madam

  2. scillagrace February 21, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Congratulations! I bet you feel more energetic than ever…go get ’em, girl!

Leave a Reply

