On Your Marks, Get Set, GO!

1 Jan

Happy New Year to all in MonsterLand. I hope you are leaving 2012 with fond memories and are entering 2013 with a skip in your step and a song in your heart.

I am starting the new year on a journey to self-betterment by joining in the Cancer Research UK Dryathlon. For those who haven’t heard about it, it’s a fundraising event set up by the charity to encourage people to go without alcohol for the first month of the year in exchange for sponsorship, and to donate the money which would otherwise have been spent on booze. For me this represents the perfect way to kickstart something I have been trying to do for a while, in going teetotal. I’ve attempted it many times and always failed through weak resolve, but doing the first month for charity gives the extra element I need to get over the initial hump.

dryathlon

I know that for most alcohol is a harmless little vice which done in moderation is fine as part of a healthy lifestyle. However for me, I find that I’ve come to rely on it too much, and have been drinking more than I should. I have gone up two dress sizes in the last year because of it, and it plays havoc with my mood and well-being. Also through family reasons, and having worked extensively with patients with oral cancer, I’ve seen the devastation that excessive drinking can do first hand.

So, it’s time to kiss it goodbye. I started a little early and have not had a drink in five days. I can already feel slight withdrawal kicking in, and the charity element is certainly helping me to stay strong. I spent new years eve drinking cranberry juice from a martini glass, and certainly haven’t missed the hangover.

As an extra motivation, I’ve decided that at the end of the month, I will donate a further £2 for every pound of weight I’ve lost. So to get a baseline I weighed and measured myself so as to see what a difference ditching the drink might make. My stats are as follows:

Weight – 71.7kg (11st 3)

Chest – 90cm (35.4 inches)

Waist – 88cm (34.6 inches)

Hips – 103cm (40.5 inches)

Thighs – 63cm (24.8 inches)

Dress size – 12 (and a half!)

We also measured my body fat at various points around my body ;

Iliac crest – 22mm

Subscapular – 24mm

Bicep – 11mm

Tricep – 23mm

Body fat Percentage – 34.33%

Fat Mass (weight of just my body fat) – 24.65kg (3.9 stone)

What it boils down to is that I am technically in the ‘obese’ category (quite a shock to discover I can tell you) and ideally I need my fat mass to be less than 10kg to be back in a good healthy range.

If I was feeling brave enough I would post a ‘before’ picture of me, but I really don’t feel confident to do it. I may do once the month has passed and I’m feeling better about myself.

So, wish me luck, and if anyone would like to sponsor my endeavour to raise money for cancer research by going without the booze, then you can visit my Just-Giving page at www.justgiving.com/dryathlete-jennifer-valentine.

One Response to “On Your Marks, Get Set, GO!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Back! « Mistress of Monsters - February 21, 2013

    […] thing I have been busy with since I last blogged has been my fitness. You might remember that I was shocked in early January to discover that I was […]

Leave a Reply

