Felt Ahoy!

29 Dec

I’ve so much to share with you from the festive period but to start with, I wanted to unveil a quick little project which I’ve just completed.

I’ve been dying to further explore the world of needle-felting after having learnt the basics in a workshop a month or so ago. I incorporated the skills into one of my recent commissions, and have begun to see so many possible applications for felting in my work. I’ve always had a love of illustration, and a hefty collection of children’s picture books, but have never had the drawing skills to match what I see in my head. I’ve realised that needle-felting can be used as a medium for illustration, so this evening I decided to have a go. Within half an hour I’d managed to create a little image that I’m actually quite proud of.

Felted Illustration

Lots of potential for improvement and for broadening my scope, but for now, I’m happy with this little chap!

2 Responses to “Felt Ahoy!”

  1. T J January 3, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    I’ve had the same experience – can’t draw to save myself but give me some needles and some fabrics & I can get things to look half decent! Hope you continue to enjoy.

    • mistressofmonsters January 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Thanks! I love your experiments in needle-felting. Addictive stuff. Happy crafting.

Leave a Reply

