Felted Fabulousness

18 Nov

For a long time now, needle felting has seemed like the most mysterious of sciences to me. I’ve admired things made this way on Etsy and at craft fairs; beautiful, intricate works of art with no idea as to how they were made. I love learning new things, especially if it helps me to advance my monsters, so when a needle felting workshop popped up on my doorstep, I roped mummy monster in and we booked ourselves places on the course.

Paper Village is part craft-shop, part craft-community and is a true Aladdin’s cave of delights. A great selection of unusual books and supplies, with workshops covering every skill under the sun. Nothing is too much trouble for the vibrant and knowledgable owner, and Mummy Monster and I spent a wonderful afternoon there yesterday learning the basics of needle felting.

Over a cup of tea and some jelly babies, and along with four fellow newcomers to the art, we turned this

Into this

I really enjoyed the intricate nature of the methods involved in needle felting. It is somewhere between sculpting out of clay, and painting a picture. We started with making a simple round shape and embellishing it with shapes and colours.  I admit I was really unsure of what I was doing at first but eventually ended up with this.

Once I’d worked out the basic techniques I was keen to try something a little more complicated so set about trying to make a bird. At first I was completely lost as to how to sculpt the basic shape, but once I’d formed a spherical shape to get me started, the skills started to click and I grasped the idea of heavily working certain areas to change the shape and add the details. I was genuinely surprised when I ended up with this.

My little bird of paradise has got me well and truly hooked on needle felting and I can see the practical applications it could have for embellishment on my monsters, as well as as a craft in its own right. I can’t wait to get all the bits I need and get going on a few projects.

The others in the group got on well too. Mummy Monster ended up with this little collection

And our fellow crafters produced these little treasures

Fabulous and all so different, what a lovely way to spend a Saturday.

2 Responses to “Felted Fabulousness”

  1. High River Arts November 18, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    The birds are absolutely adorable.

  2. scillagrace November 18, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    How delightful! Not only to learn something new, create something with your own hands, but to share the experience with your Mum!

Leave a Reply

