Festive Fairies

3 Nov

Mr Monster and I had a most enjoyable and productive day today. I’ve been wanting to get some mini-Christmas fairy monster tree toppers done after the success of the star toppers last year, and the Mr wanted to get a fancy dress costume made. We shared the craft room and over copious cups of tea, we got creating. A succesful day was had by all. He is currently squeezing into a rather spectacular AT-ST costume (Star Wars roboty thing for the uninitiated!) and I have some lovely little fairy folk to show you.

I’ve discovered the joys of Jellyrolls. Bundles of coordinating fabric intended for patchwork, but the perfect size for making mini-monsters. I got a great roll yesterday of home-spun patterns in muted colours which I felt would be perfect for some tree-topping darlings. I managed two today and I am extremely proud of them. Take a little look

Perfect to tie on to the top of your tree!

I love the direction my work is taking at the moment. The mini-monsters are allowing me to create more rapidly and keep a coherent flow through my work. The collection is starting to look really good and I can’t wait to get them out there at a fair to see how people respond to them.

4 Responses to “Festive Fairies”

  1. scillagrace November 4, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Any photos of the Mr. in his costume?

  2. Linda November 4, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Brilliant Jenny. I especially love the twisty ears. They look as though they are in a police line up . Hee hee.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Homemade AT-ST « Mistress of Monsters - November 6, 2012

    […] mentioned in a post the other day about the Mr and I sharing the craft room at the weekend. Whilst I monstered away, he […]

Leave a Reply

