Monster Mistress on a Mission

15 Oct

Now that the wedding extravaganza is over, I can begin to focus on my beloved monsters again. Tomorrow is my last day of holiday before I go back to work so I will be up bright and early to get my craft room sorted (it currently looks like an explosion in a bridal shop) and get crafting.

We used purple gingham fabric to cover the tables at our reception venue and I have tonnes of the stuff left, so I’m planning to incorporate that into a few creations. I have a deep love of the 1940’s and 50’s which is beginning to permeate my life and is finding its way into my hair, make-up and style of dress. I love victory rolls, girdled waists and a slick of red lipstick. I had great fun last summer cooking up my 40’s inspired bathing beauty Veronica Flipperstone, complete with polka dot swimsuit and floral swimcap.

I’m thinking of adapting her design into an Elvgren-esque pin-up girl with a saucy gingham outfit, perhaps teamed with a pair of roller skates.

Of course christmas is coming up to so I can’t resist a few sparkly festive monsters too. I entirely expect to be covered in glitter well into 2013. I’ve been doing a bit of sketching this evening to get myself prepared. I’m excited!

2 Responses to “Monster Mistress on a Mission”

  1. little poppits October 15, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    that is so cool!

  2. sarah October 15, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    So great to read this post! Can’t wait to see what you create tomorrow. Sketches look very interesting. I love a victory roll, that would look great with the gingham.

    Sarah x

Leave a Reply

