The Future’s Bright

13 Oct

A funny little coincidence happened on the wedding day.

While I was out trying on wedding dresses with mothers of the bride and groom way back in February, we took a shortcut through a bookshop. I have a bit of a thing for children’s picture books and am a sucker for a good title or a cute cover illustration. I was struck by both when I spotted this little gem by Rachel Bright

The story is about a little monster who above all things just wants to find someone to love. He searches high and low, and just as he is giving up hope and things are starting to get dark, he finds a lovely lady monster to be his partner. It really struck a chord with me and felt that it told the story of Mr Monster and I to a tee, so I bought a copy to give to him as a gift on the morning of the wedding, and also made reference to the story during my vows. I am reliably informed that he had a bit of a ‘moment’ whilst reading it (although he’ll hate me for telling you that!)

Unbeknownst to me, that morning one of the lady ushers had given Mr Monster a card in which she had written a poem by the same author. He liked it so much that he had it written into our ceremony and it was read by the friend we had roped in to officiating the blessing for us. It was just perfect and I really wanted to share it with you here. As part of our ceremony it made me laugh, and touched my heart in ways that only great poetry can. It would seem that Rachel Bright is on our wavelength!

4 Responses to “The Future’s Bright”

  1. theloveculture October 13, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Love love love this so much. Pretty amazing how you got the book and gave it to him the same time he received a poem from the same author… wow.🙂 Funny too, cos just this afternoon I was thinking of writing a little story about a monster looking for love…

    …now I need to get this book! Thanks for sharing!❤

  2. Rachel Bright October 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    This made my day, thank you Mistress of Monsters & brand new Mr Monster.

    • mistressofmonsters October 16, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      Ooo! I didn’t expect to hear from the lady herself! I’m glad you found my little blog. Love Monster and your poetry added a little bit of magic to our day so thank you very much indeed. Looking forward to getting a copy of Walter and the No-Need-To-Worry Suit. Sounds like I could do with a bit of Walter’s wisdom! x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love Monster « theloveculture - October 13, 2012

    […] think I’ll write a story! Many hours later, I discovered Love Monster on The Future’s Bright! I haven’t read the book yet but I think it’s awesome already. I waaaaannt. […]

Leave a Reply

