Good Advice

1 Oct

Comfort and wisdom can come from the most unexpected of sources, and today it came to me from thousands of miles away, from a person I have never met. A comment was left on my post about wedding stress by a lady in Wisconsin, America who has followed my blog for sometime now and often leaves little words of encouragement. This was what she had to say:

“Stress, anticipation, hype, expectations…all the emphasis on a future event distracts you from the present moment, which is the only “real” moment anyway. “Why anyone would want to marry you just now,” is a great reminder that your relationship with Mr. Monster is really about all the “just nows” that you will experience together. Looking into each other’s eyes, feeling his breath raise his chest, listening to the thud of his heart, watching a smile spread across his face, all of the ways that you are attentive to the immediate moment will keep you grounded and perhaps make you feel less cranky!”

Beautifully put, and so true. It’s so easy to lose sight of what’s important and I thought I was the kind of person who wouldn’t get caught up in the planning and the stress. I guess I have been beating myself up for that rather than just enjoying the experience and going with the flow. This comment reminds me to be mindful of the present, to let go of unproductive worry, and to revel in the little things which make life, and love so worthwhile. I have been feeling needy of late and pestering Mr Monster for affection, and I guess that’s because I haven’t been soaking up the simple everyday things which are what a relationship is all about.

Thank you to Scillagrace for continuing to follow my ramblings and for giving me a much needed kick up the bum on these last few days before the wedding. Go on over to her blog to get to know her, and to check out some of the beautiful images she’s creating with her new camera.

 

5 Responses to “Good Advice”

  1. scillagrace October 1, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Aww, sweetie, thanks so much! Actually just got off the phone with my own daughter who is now in the process of planning her own wedding next July/Aug. She wants to remain a Bride-chilla, but is already recognizing the tidal wave washing against that. Who is trying to sink these precious young women? (probably vendors who can figure out how to profit from the hype) I give credit to you for keeping your own head, doing what you want to do yourself, and focusing on what you value!

    • mistressofmonsters October 1, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      The best advice I can give from my experiences of that last few months is not to buy any bridal magazines or go to any big commercial wedding fairs. Stick to independent and vintage fairs and check out blogs like rock and roll bride, and offbeat bride. I hope she has a great time planning and remains a Bride-chilla throughout! x

      • scillagrace October 1, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

        Thanks! Offbeat Bride is one of her top Pinterest sites, I think.

  2. scillagrace October 3, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    Also, linking this post to my post today. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. May All Beings Be Happy | scillagrace - October 3, 2012

    […] of Monsters is like another daughter to me, in a way.  She is getting married next week.  Here’s an exchange we had.  She turned it into a blog […]

Leave a Reply

