Not a Whole Lot of Monstering Going On

3 Aug

For a blog entitled ‘Mistress of Monsters’, there has been a distinct lack of monster action just lately. Life has taken over somewhat and my monstering activities have been thin on the ground to say the least.

I now get married in nine weeks, and am throwing in a move of house in the meantime for good measure. Two of the most stressful things you can undertake within a month of each other. I’ve had the odd little massive breakdown in the last couple of weeks with the thought of everything that needs to be done. Even though it is all amazingly good stuff that I have to look forward to, that doesn’t stop me getting a little bit wound up about it. I basically just feel completely overwhelmed by the big changes coming up, and by how much work is involved in preparing for them. I know what you’re thinking; ‘Man up and get on with it’, and you’re probably right, but for now…I want my Mummy.

As luck would have it, Mummy monster is coming to visit tomorrow and I’m sure that after a bit of tea and sympathy, I will be feeling a lot more capable and able to enjoy the next couple of months, instead of regarding them with mild terror.

What it all boils down to is that in 10 weeks, I will be wed to my marvellous Mr Monster, and living with him and our two gorgeous cats in a beautiful house with a spectacular garden. That’s not a bad lot in life. I knew from very early on with the Mr that he was the man I was going to marry, and in getting so stressed about everything I start to pick fights and behave like a very silly person. I don’t want that. What I want is to grow flowers, make monsters, and care for my family. It will be a little bit of hard work to get there, but get there we will. Once we do, I promise to make you some more monsters!

5 Responses to “Not a Whole Lot of Monstering Going On”

  1. tenaciousbitch August 3, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Hang in there! You’ll get through it! A girlfriend of mine did the same thing 10 years ago, and the worst tragedy that occurred was not being able to find the coffee pot the morning after the move. Since we Americans are more into the java than tea, this was only monumental because of the exhaustion in that my friends moved into their new home a week after the honeymoon! Thank God for Starbucks! 🙂

    • mistressofmonsters August 3, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Ha! Thanks for the support, I will make sure I pack the teapot in a place where we can find it! xx

  2. Patch August 3, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    No worries, I’m sure we can all wait patiently for some awesome monster action once your exciting, if extremely busy, few weeks are done and dusted. Hopefully the resulting monsters will be even more amazing because you have picked up lots of fantastic inspiration along the way 😉

    • mistressofmonsters August 3, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      I will try and remember that comment and seek inspiration throughout the process. Thanks for the encouragement xx

  3. scillagrace August 6, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    It sounds like you really know what is important in your life. Don’t let the small fires take over. Not everything that “needs to be done” really does. Slow down and enjoy your Mr., your cats, your real life!

Leave a Reply

