200 Posts Ago…

17 Jun

This is my 200th post. That’s a lot of rambling, even for me. My first post on this blog was posted on Jan 6th 2011, but this was my second attempt at blogging. My first go fell flat on its face six months previously after a couple of posts, when I realised that I actually had nothing to blog about. I was existing rather than living and was certainly not fulfilling my potential in life.

This being a landmark post at number 200, it got me thinking about who I was and what I was doing when I first started blogging. Things have changed no end since then.

This was me back then, 28 years old, and in the middle of having my heart broken for the second time by the same man. Struggling with an undiagnosed mood disorder, living in a shared house, recently hospitalised with a mystery illness, and very unhappy. I hadn’t picked up a pencil, paintbrush, or pair of scissors in a long long time, and it hadn’t even really occurred to me to do so.

Something needed to change. I was entering a bit of a manic phase where I needed something to keep me busy (and keep me out of trouble), which was when I started creating again. Starting out with some doodles, these evolved into sock creatures and eventually into monsters. The monster obsession grew, and finally I had something to blog about. It wasn’t until I met Mr Monster at the end of 2010 that I started to take my art seriously. On our first date he asked me “So, what do you do with your spare time”. I replied, with an air of mystery, “I make monsters”. He told me that was the best answer I could possibly have given, and from there the ice was broken. We began throwing around ideas for a business name and it was from that conversation that ‘The Mistress of Monsters’ evolved.

As we got to know each other, Mr Monster took my business in hand and took it upon himself to design me a logo (still the best present anyone has given me), and gave my then fledgling and rather generic looking blog a revamp into what you see today.

This is me today. As I write my 200th post, I’m 30 years old, happy, and engaged to marry my partner in crime. I have sound health, and a busy life. I understand myself, and am happy with the person I am. I have a lovely home, two beautiful cats, a loving family, and supportive friends. It pays to count your blessings sometimes, and I feel lucky to have the chance to list them here.

4 Responses to “200 Posts Ago…”

  1. scillagrace June 17, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    Yipee!! One of the happiest blog posts I’ve ever read. Hurray for change and growth and movement!

    • mistressofmonsters June 18, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      Hurray indeed! Thanks for being such a supporter of my little blog. X

  2. Wazeau June 18, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Congratz on your 200th post, and even more, on owning your life and making it into something to blog about🙂

Leave a Reply

