Thinking Small

20 May

At yesterdays art trail, it dawned on me that it would be nice to have smaller pieces to sell along with my usual large monsters. Maybe even things which are more functional too, like key rings and brooches. So today I set myself the challenge of working small.

For me, bigger has always been better. I struggle to paint, draw, or do anything creative on a small scale. I find it easier to express myself when I can feel loose and unconfined. I just don’t get on with fiddley detail. That’s what made the idea of mini monsters seem quite daunting. In the past, even when I’ve tried to work small, my work just grows and grows until it reaches truly monstrous proportions.

Naturely, I procrastinated for a bit as the idea of the task at hand was outside of my comfort zone, with plenty of potential for failure. After a strong coffee and a pep-talk from Mr Monster, I set to work.

I was actually surprised at how fun it was to do something new. First, I set about making a tiny pirate.

So cute! And he fits in the palm of my hand, LOOK!

I presented him to Mr Monster who instantly grabbed him with a cry of “MINE”… I will take that as a compliment. He set me the challenge of making a small version of Alphonso, the monster which I created in his image when we first started seeing each other. And so I scurried back to the craft-room to give it a bash. An hour and a half later, my tiny pirate was joined by Alphonso’s diminutive twin.

He’s still not teeny tiny, but I reckon I managed to get him at least one fifth of the size of his big brother.

Mr Monster is going to take little Alphonso to work to sit on his desk. I think he’ll make a good PA.

 

8 Responses to “Thinking Small”

  1. LauraBethDesign May 20, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Awesome Jen. They are teeny tiny and monstrously cute. x

  2. Patch May 20, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Fantastic. Distinctly teenier. Keep going and they may get smaller yet. Fingers all still unscathed??

  3. scillagrace May 20, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    You may have to keep your eyes peeled for tiny buttons…are those hard to come by? Good job!

    • Linda May 22, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      No. Teeny buttons are easy to get.

  4. Linda May 22, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    They are fabulous Jenny. A definate winner.

  5. Fi Baker May 25, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Ooooh me likey! Can you do a little set of Bakers done on our little characters? that would be AMAZING! Xxxx

Leave a Reply

