Keep on Rollin’

17 Mar

Ooooo, now then. I have a new obsession. While in London at the weekend, I was watching some kids in the park enjoying themselves on roller skates. It took me back twenty years to when I got a beautiful pair of second-hand skates in blue suede with yellow stripes, and used to zoom up and down the garden path. I miss that freedom, and as much as I love monstering, it doesn’t really have that outdoorsy, adrenaliney hit which we all need.

So, when I got home Mr Monster and I started looking into getting me some skates, and into the wonderful world of Roller Derby. Derby is a fast-paced, ruthless, slam-fest of a game, and with my scrappy nature, is right up my street. To anyone not familiar with the game, check out the Hollywood version in the move ‘Whip It’. It’s so popular at the moment that there are huge waiting lists to even try out for a team, but that’s ok as it gives me time to get my skating legs back. I’d not been on a pair in quite some years until I gave it a go at a roller disco last summer and spent the majority of my time on my bum, much to the amusement of my friends!

So, after dreaming about some skates all week, yesterday Mr Monster and I headed up to Roller Mania in Bristol and got me a pair of derby skates, complete with wrist guards and a hot pink helmet. After a brief stop-off for a milkshake, we came home and headed straight to the car park for an inaugural roll. I LOVED it! Admittedly, I looked like Bambi learning to walk, but I stayed on my feet and made progress fast. This morning I bounced out of bed and if it weren’t for the risk of bumping into my neighbours, I would have been down to the car park again in my PJ’s to give it another go! As it was, I did take the time to put some clothes on and off I went. I’ve pretty much nailed going in a straight line now, and I’m actually learning to stop instead of crashing wildly into walls.

I am totally in love with the whole thing and on Monday I’m going to brave the real world on them for the first time. Bristol has some great flat, smooth, outdoor spaces, so while the rest of the world are at work I’m going to don my helmet and pads, and get out in the open. Of course I will let you know how it goes.

We thought it would be good to document my progress, so the ever talented Mr Monster has created a little teaser trailer for what’s to come. It made me howl with laughter when I saw it, check it out with the link below.

http://www.facebook.com/v/10150736988357464

5 Responses to “Keep on Rollin’”

  1. scillagrace March 17, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Good for you! My daughter also got the bug and joined a team last year. Another added thrill is picking out a name for your Roller Derby Bad Girl self…like Violence Beauregard or Veruca Assault. Have fun!

    • mistressofmonsters March 17, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

      Ha! Great names. I have mine picked out already. It will remain a closely guarded secret until I get on a team! x

  2. Patch March 18, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Fantastic, love the trailer. I also had a pair of blue suede with yellow stripes skates, Oh how I loved them! I had totally forgotten about them till I read this. Thanks for reminding me!

    • mistressofmonsters March 18, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      Happy to oblige! Get yourself a new pair and get out skating. It’s so much fun! x

      • Patch March 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

        Hmmm, lots of hills here, might be a bit risky!!

Leave a Reply

