Flower Power

21 Jan

I’m finally on a countdown of less than a week until I get my lovely new sewing machine. I won’t lie, it has been exceedingly hard for me to be without a sewing machine for a month and I have been feeling a little bereft, wafting around like a little lamb, pining for my lost love.

To prevent me from going TOTALLY mad, I’ve been working on some bits which can be hand sewn, namely the felt flowers for my bridal bouquet for the forthcoming monster wedding. I don’t have all the colours of felt which I need yet but have enough to be going on with for now.

Allow me to talk you through the process…

I’ve made myself some templates of different sized flowers by printing out some images from the internet and pasting them on to cardboard before drawing round them on felt to give me a guide when cutting them out.

The cutting out part is quite labourious but makes a great ‘crafting in front of the telly’ activity to occupy my sewing starved mind!

From this point I chose a few colours of embroidery thread, and used a variety of stitches to embellish roughly half of the flowers.

I had wanted to incorporate monsters into the bouquet somehow but couldn’t work out how to do it in a subtle and classy way. Mr Monster came to the rescue by suggesting using googly monster eyes as the centres for some of the flowers once the layers are stacked together.

I love the way they are going so far and I think they will look great once they are all wired up and put together with flowers and ribbons and other bits and bobs to make the finished article. So much to do!

2 Responses to “Flower Power”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mistress of Monsters - January 21, 2012

    […] I would like to welcome to WordPress, Laura, of Laura Beth Designs. Jewellery maker and fellow button fanatic who today launched her new blog. Why not go and visit […]

  2. Flower Power « Mr and Mrs Monster - January 21, 2012

    […] how the bouquets are coming along? Hop over to my Mistress of Monsters blog to find out.. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

