New Year – New Skill?

13 Jan

For me, 2012 is the year that I focus HARD on improving my technical sewing skills. I want to start dressmaking, both following patterns and learning to make patterns of my own to create one of a kind designs. I figure that clothing could be a whole new direction for me and will also translate to my monster making to broaden the scope of what I can come up with.

It’s pretty exciting being on the brink of learning something new and I keep finding myself daydreaming about what I might be capable of after a few lessons and a bit of practice.

So what about you lot fabric fans? I’d love to hear about what you are planning for the year ahead and what you dream of creating.

If you find yourself stuck for ideas, why not find a workshop to attend? It’s a great way of getting a taster of a skill to see if it is something you want to pursue, and an excellent way to make links with like-minded people. For you Bristol based lovelies, Cox and Baloney run regular craft workshops with unlimited tea and cake in their beautiful vintage teashop. Have a bash at cross stitch on Jan 25th with Purple Thread Designs. Forget those stuffy old images of flowers and teddy bears, cross stitch has moved on and you might find yourself stitching Star Wars characters and VW campervans!

2 Responses to “New Year – New Skill?”

  1. Linda January 13, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    This year I plan to get to know my new sewing machine and play with some fabric scraps. Also I would like to experiment more with altered art, mixed media projects and mod podge.xx

Leave a Reply

