Bathing Beauties

25 Nov

After meeting the very lovely Chris Webb of Lazy Crafternoons at one of our monthly Coffee and Craft meetings, I eagerly signed up to take part in one of his workshops. Temptingly titled ‘Treat Yourself’, and in the gleeful surroundings of vintage teashop Cox and Baloney, the course promised to teach the basics of making your own bath bombs, masks, and scrubs.

I’ve always been a devotee of shops like Lush as I firmly believe that if you don’t pamper yourself on occasion, then who else is going to? The only downside being that they have a habit of discontinuing my favourite products, and that I can very easily max out my credit card in one sweet-smelling hit!

I’d never really considered making my own products as I always imagined it to be some kind of mysterious science, but under Chris’ expert tuition it turned out to be both straight-forward and fun. Cox and Baloney was the perfect setting, with a bit of Sinatra in the background, bottomless tea from Granny’s best mis-matched china, and some yummy home-made cakes. We stirred, mixed, piped, and laughed, ending up with some cupcake bath bombs, a jar of body scrub, and a clay face mask. Playing with essential oils chilled me out no end and boxing up and decorating our wares at the end of the workshop provided a great sense of achievement.

Bath StuffWhen I was a kid I had a bit of an obsession with George’s Marvellous Medicine, especially after seeing Rik Mayall’s spirited interpretation of it on Jackanory. Splodging and squirting household items into a saucepan to make something magical was such an attractive idea, and making bath and body products has that same ‘hubble bubble toil and trouble’ feel to it. Especially when we discovered that cat litter makes an excellent base ingredient for face masks; mixing that up and spreading it on my face made my day but it has the potential to confuse the hell out of my cats.

Chris gave us some recipes to take away and I will most certainly be utilising my new skills to make Christmas presents for my nearest and dearest. My skin is now buffed, polished, and nourished, and all for pence rather than pounds. Aces!

Leave a Reply

