Lions and Narwhals and Bears, OH MY!

20 Nov

Now then, I feel a little silly. I am a grown-up, well-educated woman of the world, or so I thought. I was recently left open-mouthed in astonishment watching David Attenborough’s marvellous series Frozen Planet, to find out that a species which I believed to be entirely fictional, the stuff of whimsy and myth, is in fact…a real animal. I am talking dear reader of the Narwhal.

Skunkboy Creatures NarwhalLittle Bearries NarwhalCascette Narwhal

I am used to seeing the many plush versions out there like these by Skunkboy Creatures, Little Bearries and Casscette respectively, and had always been amused and delighted by their part whale, part unicorn cuteness. It never even crossed my cotton-candy little brain that this might actually be a real creature. I had some vague (and now proven to be incorrect) idea that I may have read the name in one of the Lord of the Rings volumes alongside beasts like the Oliphaunt and the Warg and to be fair, they would probably have fitted right in.

So it seems my grasp on reality has shifted ever so slightly in finding out that a whale with a ridiculously long, spiralling horn is actually out there, swimming around. As my friend Emily said when I told her about my discovery, “Doesn’t it make you think that Unicorns might have actually existed?”……..

4 Responses to “Lions and Narwhals and Bears, OH MY!”

  1. Mum November 20, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I feel a failure as a mother, that I didn’t educate you properly. Dad and I both know about Narwhals and have done for some time. Don’t know how we missed out on telling you that! I wonder if CJH knows about them?
    Sorry for missing out that vital bit of your education. Mum xx

  2. mistressofmonsters November 20, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Oh mum, that did make me chuckle! x

  3. sarah November 20, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    I took it upon myself to look up these beautiful creatures after our brief chat about them at Coffee and Craft. Oh my! indeed!

    I also thought they were just beautiful mythical creatures – until I watched Frozen Planet on catch up. What a treat! I couldn’t be more delighted if someone told me the fairies at the bottom of the garden were real!

Leave a Reply

