Must Be Good…Must Be Good…Must Be Good………

15 Nov

For the last year or so I have lain awake at night, dreaming of computerised alphabets, LED screens, electronic speed control, automatic thread trimming and a choice of 294 stitches.

Brother Innovis 350

Yes, the Brother Innovis 350, my holy grail, my one true love, the object of my desire. This little beauty, in my eyes, leaves all other sewing machines in the shadow. I’ve been after it for some time but haven’t been able to justify investing in it as my trusty old basic Brother has just about done everything I need it to do (often only after a little light persuasion). So the shiny, sexy Innovis 350 has remained a mere dream, just a glint in my seamstress’ eye.

However…

Having worked with some really good quality faux fur this week for the Bipolar Bear, I’m really keen to explore the world of fluff a little more and make a lot more furry monsters. My little machine struggled terribly, I felt bad for expecting it to do something it really wasn’t made for. The poor little thing made a valiant effort but was sweating and trembling by the end from the exertion. I’m sure had I pushed it much more, it would have ended up in the sewing machine hospital on an oil drip with a bandaged needle and a sick-note.

The problem is, I still can’t really afford my dream machine so must be patient. Tomorrow though, I am off to a Brother sewing machine road show event at the wonderful Stitch Academy in Taunton. All those lovely machines on show, demonstrations, a chance to play with them, I’m worried I might be seduced into taking one home. I must be strong, I must control my urge to adopt one, and I must be patient. The wait will make it seem so much sweeter when I finally get my mitts on my very own fancy new machine. *Sigh*

One Response to “Must Be Good…Must Be Good…Must Be Good………”

  1. Linda November 15, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Aww, bless you Jenny. It will be yours one day.It will be worth the wait. Hope you have a lovely day at Stitch academy. Also, I adore your Bipolar bear. You have been very clever in capturing the essence of someone who is Bipolar ,as you have firsthand experiance. You are very right. It is a very misunderstood condition and it is about time people knew more about it especially when they start to judge people who have it. He conveys the message in a way that is easily understood.

    Take care
    Linda. xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

