A Look Back

2 Nov

I started sketching out some new designs in my trusty sketchbook yesterday and for the first time in ages I had a flick back through some of the older pages. I came across a series of preliminary sketches for some of my monster creations who are now finished and largely re-homed. It was a lovely find as I don’t really give the sketches a second though once I get going on the monsters themselves. It was interesting to see how faithfully I have followed my original idea and the little changes I have made along the way on each one. I always keep my book with me as inspiration can strike at the most unexpected of times and I’m looking forward to getting started on some of my new ideas. For now though, allow me to indulge in a little retrospective look back.

 

Bernie Longbottom, the bandit of Bristol

I made Bernie in the week following the riots which broke out across London and other parts of the UK, including right outside my bedroom window in Bristol. I also had some fabrics donated by my mum which leant themselves to a wild west theme so Bernie the bandit took shape.

Bernie Longbottom

Bernie Longbottom

 

Julian Cinderbach

Julian was born out of my love of all things autumnal, although I think I may have been a little premature as shortly after I made him we had an unseasonal heatwave! I wanted a little monster with rosy cheeks and cosy clothes and it gave me a giggle when I sewed on his idiot string mittens.

Julian Cinderbach

Julian Cinderbach

The Amberwoods

Clarence came first of the pair, born from a facebook brainstorming session with a few friends about the things they associate with the autumn. Woodland creatures seemed to feature quite highly which is how he ended up with his mouse pal Percival.

Clarence Amberwood

Clarence Amberwood

When he was finished he had a bit of a down-trodden look about him so he was crying out for a domineering spouse, and so Geraldine followed. She remains my favourite piece of work to date.

Geraldine Amberwood

Geraldine Amberwood

Captain Gaydar

The Captain was a commission piece which initially I was a little nervous about but as soon as the ideas started to flow, he started to take shape quite nicely. He was great fun to make and I’m sure I will turn my hand to more superhero monsters in the future.

Captain Gaydar

Captain Gaydar

2 Responses to “A Look Back”

  1. amydot90 February 1, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    These are ridiculously cute! I like!!! haha loving the chest hair on Captain Gaydar!

Leave a Reply

