A Little Glitch

31 Oct

Just over a week ago I wrote a very excited post about the fact that I was about to embark on a couple of weeks of annual leave from my job. I had images of sewing all day every day whilst whistling a merry tune and having a small army of monsters completed by the time I have to go back to work.

How wrong I was.

In reality, I had one super-motivated day of monstering, brimming with enthusiasm and overflowing with energy which was quickly (and some may say predictably) followed by a crash into exhaustion and negativity. To be honest, I’m not surprised by that. I have worked damned hard this year at a time when my life has taken some wonderful, but dramatic and life-changing turns. The monsters have been a real sanctuary for me and a release from the stress and demands of my day job.

Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy my job but it is draining and requires a lot of focus and attention to detail. I enjoy the freedom involved in monstering and, as my job is public facing and involves dealing with often extremely nervous and stressed people, it’s a great chance to squirrel myself away and have a some time where I only have myself to please.

Monsters have been my hobby and my release for some time now and have developed into something in which I am immensely proud. To me there is no better way to spend my time than to stitch and stuff until I forget to eat and look up to realise that the sun has gone down and my stomach is rumbling. This week though, when I finally had the time and brain space to devote to monsters as a business, I started to have a wobble in confidence. Do people REALLY like my work? Is my craftsmanship good enough? Are my ideas good enough to sustain long-term? I allowed these niggles to take over and…

CRASH

Down I came. I tried to ‘keep calm and monster on’ but then everything I tried to do went a bit wrong and plunged me deeper into my quagmire of self-doubt.

Stitching ceased.

Today though, I spent a lovely afternoon with Amy of Purple Thread Designs. Amy runs a business making ‘Cross-stitch kits for twitchy mitts’ and is doing brilliantly. As well as designing and producing cross-stitch kits for stitchers of all abilities, she also runs cross-stitch parties and does some amazing commissioned one-off pieces. What that girl can do with crosses has to be seen to be believed! She works incredibly hard on her business and speaks about her work with passion and enthusiasm. The joy which it gives her is plain to see. Spending some time drinking tea and throwing some ideas around with Amy has made me realise that there is no shame in having a bit of a rest every now and then, sometimes it’s  just what you need to come back stronger and in a fresh and positive frame of mind.

I feel re-energised and ready to face the craft room once again. I think I’m going to spend a bit of time working on some ideas of some art pieces which I want to do just for me. Not necessarily to sell, just for my own satisfaction and one in particular should serve to be quite a cathartic process for me.

Tomorrow I’m off to London for the day to check out the ‘Power of Making’ exhibition at the V&A which should spark some ideas, followed by a catch up with a friend who always manages to talk sense into me! After all that, monstering will, I’m sure, be back on track

6 Responses to “A Little Glitch”

  1. Amy Purple Thread October 31, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    It was a super-duper-lovely afternoon!🙂 x x x

  2. sarah October 31, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Jennifer. Let me tell you your work is utterly stunning. I always look forward to reading your blog and get very excited about your next creation. Although our work is very different, I find so much inspiration in your little monsters and their life stories. A lack in confidence and a crushing episode of self doubt is something – I believe, in the genes of all creative people. You wouldn’t believe the hard time I give myself over things. I really hope to see you at the next folk house craft evening, and was sorry i missed the last one. Enjoy London and the exhibition….relax, and give yourself a break! You’re fab! x

    • mistressofmonsters October 31, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

      Sarah, thankyou so much for being so kind and lovely about my work. It means so much to me to get feedback like that from someone so talented herself. Amy and I were just cooing over your dolls in the window of I love crafty this afternoon! It would be so lovely to see you at the next craft meet and I’m really glad I stumbled upon your blog as it would have been a shame to lose touch. Sending love and thanks again for the vote of confidence! Xx

  3. Linda October 31, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Jenny. Never doubt yourself my lovely. I have been crafting for some years now as you know and can appreciate real talent when I see it. You have a tremendous ability to see something inanimate and make a real and exciting character from it. Your monsters come alive with their own backgrounds and personalities. I admire your work greatly and also your enthusiasm to embrace and learn new crafts. If ever you need someone to talk to, I am always on the end of the phone. Looking forward to seeing you and Andy on Saturday. Come and relax, laugh and play. My room is at your disposal…..except for my secret christmas drawer……..excitement….goodies in process. Lots of love Linda. xxxxx

    • mistressofmonsters October 31, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      Ooo, secret drawer! Thanks Linda for being so kind and I’m so looking forward to seeing you and Ian at the weekend. Xx

  4. Joy November 1, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Fantastic, mistress! Monster on.

Leave a Reply

