Music to Monster By

16 Oct

When I’m squirreled away in my craft room paradise, I like a bit of background noise to keep me company. Often it will be a little something on iPlayer, maybe some gentle cooking show or some kind of comedy, Mock the Week or the like.

Other times I fancy a bit of music; either to lift my spirits, soothe my busy mind or to get my bum wiggling. With Halloween approaching my thoughts have inevitably turned to ghosts, zombies and ghouls of all kinds, but not least of all my beloved monsters.

I figured that what my plushie endeavours need is a good old monster playlist to help me on my way, so without further ado, here are my top five of the finest moments in monster music.

1. The Monster Mash – Bobby ‘Boris’ Pickett and the Crypt-Kickers

Ask anyone to name a monster song and the first thing to pop into most people’s head will be this classic from 1962. Having danced to it at many a Halloween party,  it forms some of my very early monster memories. Hard to beat.

2. Monster – Professor Green

A current favourite from an excellent album. Great lyrics and a sing-along chorus with a bass line to bump your rump to.

3. Monster – The Automatic

I seem to have adopted this as my theme tune, it always pops into my head when I approach the closing stages of any of my creations.

4. My Beloved Monster – Eels

My favourite track from one of my favourite albums from my teenage years. It got stolen for the Shrek soundtrack, but I forgive them. It is a beautiful and emotive song and the simple imagary holds a lot of monster inspiration for me.

And finally…

5. Furry Happy Monsters – REM and the Muppets

Yes, I am just a big kid. I have a teddy, I get excited for cake and new pyjamas and I like monsters for cryin’ out loud. So why wouldn’t I love this wonderful moment in musical history where angst riddled American rock band REM join forces with the muppets to demonstrate the power of happiness. I urge you to watch this through and challenge you not to smile.

One Response to “Music to Monster By”

  1. Joy October 17, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Ha! Great post, I love it!

Leave a Reply

