Mr Monster Lives up to his Name

19 Sep

I left Mr Monster unattended for an hour or so today whilst I ran some errands and when I returned I was greeted by this sight.

Monstering

Monstering

After watching me work for so long he had figured ‘how hard can it be?’ so had set about making a monster of his own. I taught him the basics of using a sewing machine a while ago so he could start customising is own clothes so he was fine with the machinery side of things. He has watched me cutting, turning, and stuffing enough to figure out how it all works and I must say, I really love what he produced.

monster

I am reliably informed that his name is Order#143. He was originally purpose designed as a filing cabinet but something went wrong during the manufacturing process and he was accidently implanted with an artificial intelligence chip. He came to realise that he wasn’t destined for a life in the stationary trade, and set about achieving his dreams of becoming an astronaut. He had the heart tattooed on his chest to remind him he can be whoever he wants to be and to follow his dreams.

Seeing Mr Monster’s work has actually made me look at monster making through new eyes. I love the freedom in this little creation and this is exactly what I have started to lose in my own work. It was really uplifting to hear Mr Monster comment that he now appreciates how much work and skill goes into the art I create.

I really hope that he continues to tinker around in the craft room and, Order#143, for your outlook on life… I salute you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

