What A Weekend – Part Three

19 Jul

And now for the best bit. After shedding a proud maternal tear at the graduation, Mr Monster and I boarded a bus to the midlands to stay with the monsters-in-law for a few days. I had a really lovely, relaxing weekend in great company and I enjoyed seeing where Mr Monster grew up.

By far my highlight of the weekend was spending sunday with Mr Monster’s mum Linda. While Mr Monster and his dad went fishing, Linda and I spent the day in her craft room. When I first saw the room I felt like I had discovered the holy grail, the treasure of the Sierra Madre and found Lord Lucan to boot. Seriously…hundreds of drawers and folders full of button, beads, ribbons and all things crafty. Heaven.

Linda showed me lots of techniques and tools which I had never come across before. Embossing, stamping, die cutting and so much more.  She helped me make a birthday card for my mum and I have also started one for my dad (which means I can’t put them on here and spoil the surprise!) I’m so pleased with them and now have a head stuffed full of ideas for art pieces using what I learnt during my crafty day. I boarded the bus back to Monster HQ with a goody bag of bits which Linda kindly put together for me and spent the trip sketching ideas in my trusty notebook. I can’t wait to show you all some of them once I get started.

Most of all it was just wonderful to spend the day with an enthusiastic and like-minded crafter in our natural habitat. Check it out, I only wish I could be this organised:

2 Responses to “What A Weekend – Part Three”

  1. Linda July 20, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Jenny…it seems really strange seeing my craft room on the internet. I loved having such an enthusiastic pupil to teach and share my passion with. It was a real pleasure and I still have loads to show you. As you know my craft room is my haven. It is not normally this tidy ( a crafter is never tidy) but I had to make an effort for the photo shoot. I do have a lot of stash, I must confess but it has been hoarded over a 10 year period and it is what I spend most of my spare money on. I can’t help it…I love it.I am a craft addict and I am proud to admit it. I will start my blog soon and then you can keep up with what I am doing as I can with you. my love to you Miss Monster. xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Nicest of Gifts « Mistress of Monsters - August 6, 2011

    […] may remember some weeks ago that I wrote a post eulogising Mr Monster’s mum’s craft room. Well, I went on about it so much that Mr Monster eventually gave in and I came home one day to […]

Leave a Reply

