From little acorns…

10 Jan

I wanted to share with you a little of where my enthusiasm for fabric art comes from. My very talented mother has an affinity for fabric and has been making things for as long as I can remember. The projects which stick in my memory most of all are the character dolls she used to make for her friends and colleagues back when I was growing up.

She works in a primary school, actually the same one where I spent my formative years and in the great British tradition, we had some great and eccentric characters working there. Perfect material for making a fabric caricature. Staff used to get excited around birthdays and special occasions, hoping they would be in receipt of one of these little works of art
This is just a small selection and what you can’t see is that they often had fancy underwear, union jack knickers and the like.
Like mother like daughter.
3 Responses to “From little acorns…”

  1. Tigerlilly Quinn January 10, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    >aww cute! I love the old man one 😀 x

  2. Jenny Hall January 10, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    >There was a rumour that the man in question wore a toupee so this doll had its hair attached with velcro. Luckily he saw the funny side! x

  3. Tigerlilly Quinn January 15, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    >ahh thats brilliant 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

