A Homemade AT-ST

6 Nov

I mentioned in a post the other day about the Mr and I sharing the craft room at the weekend. Whilst I monstered away, he got down to constructing the ultimate Halloween costume. He and I are both geeks at heart, and massive fans of Star Wars. He’s always dreamed of constructing some of the armoured assault vehicles which feature in the movies so with Halloween as the perfect excuse, he set about making a wearable AT-ST, a bi-pedal walker affectionately known as a ‘chicken walker’.

The project was a real labour of love and I was genuinely impressed with his attention to detail and the ingenious methods he came up with to make all the little features perfect. The head of the walker started life as the box for my dressmakers dummy, but was soon transformed (with the help of some plastic plates, cups, and straws) into this.

 

And once the legs went on, a homemade AT-ST costume was born.

Pretty impressive huh?!

 

3 Responses to “A Homemade AT-ST”

  1. scillagrace November 6, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Yes, I’m definitely impressed!

  2. Patch November 6, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Very good. Very innovative. When you wrte about what he had made I couldn’t imagine it. Thank you for sharing the pictures. I’m not showing my boys because then I would have to make one… Maybe next Halloween!

    • mistressofmonsters November 6, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

      Next time he plans to make a fully functional Optimus Prime which turns from robot to truck. Ambitious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

