Going for Gold!

9 Aug

I am unashamed to say that I have been absolutely obsessed with the olympics. I’ve always liked the olympic games, the first one I can properly remember was Barcelona in 1992. I would have been 10 years old and have vivid memories af the archer with a flaming arrow and cheering Linford over the line in the 100m. The excitement of it all stuck with me and has resurfaced every four years. I love the fact that you can measure out your life in olympic games. I can remember watching the Athens Olympics in 2004 with a tinge of nerves that I was off to University very soon, and I settled down to watch the opening ceremony for Bejing in 2008 the night before a good friends wedding. It’s great to know that I will remember London 2012 as the games just before my wedding, and can’t help but wonder what I might be doing when the games travel to Rio in four years time.

Despite being an olympic fan, I hadn’t quite grasped how special it would be to be the host nation. When the torch came through Bristol I didn’t bother to go and see it, a decision I now bitterly regret. It just seemed too early to start getting excited! It wasn’t until the day of the opening ceremony that my excitement really started to bubble. Mr Monster and I were  invited to a fancy dress olympic party at our neighbours, complete with opening ceremony drinking games (close-up of the queen…have a drink, Boris falls over…have a drink…you get the idea). Guests were required to come in olympic sporting garb. Mr Monster padded up in some of our boxing gear, and I did my best as a cheeky patriotic sailor.

Getting ready for the party, I was suddenly struck by a wave of girlish excitement which was only heightened by the appearance of Mr Bean and J.K. Rowling.

Since the games began, I have been glued to the coverage. I’m dead impressed with the way the event has been presented and managed, and with the amazing performance of Team GB. I’m so glad that it happened in my lifetime.

True to form though, my favourite part of the games has been the monster mascots Wenlock and Mandeville. Who could resist them? There truly are no words to describe how much I love this picture!

 

One Response to “Going for Gold!”

  1. scillagrace August 9, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Being without TV means that this Olympic fan is out of the loop. It’s OK, though. I have my memories of watching Nadia on TV in ’76 and being at an equestrian event at the ’84 games in LA with morning sickness, pregnant with my first child.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

