All Grown Up

18 Jul

Our recent enforced house-hunt is over. Mr Monster and I make a pretty good team which was demonstrated in the slick way in which we found our next home. I’m currently on two weeks annual leave so used my time to scope out promising places while the Mr was at work, and arranging for him to see them in the evenings.

We seem to have found ourselves a rather gorgeous three bedroom semi-detached house and it all feels terribly grown-up. I have to keep reminding myself that I am, in fact, thirty years old and getting married. I think I qualify as an adult but having only lived in flats since leaving home in 2002, I must admit that I found the idea of taking on a ‘family’ home quite daunting.

When I went to see the house with an impartial friend as a second pair of eyes, I knew it was perfect. Clean, newly decorated, spacious, everything we need in a new home. However, I found myself making every excuse under the sun as to why it was no good for us. Too big, needs too much furniture, a front garden to tend, you name it…but deep down it felt like home.

It took me quite a few hours of thrashing out the pros and cons over a couple of glasses of wine with my friend to eventually figure out that it was the one. Mr Monster managed to see it briefly that evening and rang me immediately to say that he felt it was perfect. Funnily enough, he’s much more comfortable than I am with the idea of moving into the house in which we will, in all likelihood be raising a family. We put down a holding deposit straight away and provided that everything goes well with the paperwork, we move in on the 8th September.

We’ve already worked out how to divide up the bedrooms for the time-being. I am very pleased to say that I’m lucky enough to be gifted with the master bedroom as a craftroom, whilst Mr Monster is taking the smallest room as his ‘Man-cave’, complete with Xbox and other manly type things. We have a beautiful garden, a sunny living room, and an off-road parking space so I don’t have to attempt to parallel park which has never been my strong point.

So, crisis averted. We may have been forced to move well before we felt ready, and at a very inconvenient time, but it looks as if it is all turning out for the best. We get a marital home in which we can settle, expand, and live happily ever after, which is lets face it, the only thing we really need.

4 Responses to “All Grown Up”

  1. Sarah July 18, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Oh Missy! This is wonderful news. I moved into my first ‘grown up’ house aged 32, then Karle and I got married not long after. I can honestly say its the best move I ever made. Don’t look back. Sarah x

    • mistressofmonsters July 18, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks Sarah – I’m making my peace with it now. Just can’t wait to be in! x

  2. Patch July 18, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Yay! Hurrah! Knew it would all turn out good. Phew!

  3. scillagrace July 19, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Congratulations on the house and scoring the Big Room for your Monsters!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 541 other followers

