Fabric Heaven

9 Jul

I’ve had a little trip to London today with mummsy, and what a lovely but exhausting day it’s been. As it turns out, Berwick Street; one of the side streets tucked away from the bustle of Oxford Street, is a fabric lover’s paradise. Eight shops selling silks, satins, buttons and braids, all in one tiny stretch. With window displays like this one, who could resist?

I’ve come away with a few samples of fabrics which I have in mind for the forthcoming embellishment of ‘The Dress’. We squeezed in a little visit to the V&A for the newly refurbished dress collection and the special Ballgown exhibition which is on at the moment. It was simply stunning, and I came away with sketch after sketch of bits and pieces which inspired me. A fruitful trip, and with our imminent house move in mind, I have come up with a design which will hopefully not take too much time to execute, just in case I find myself without enough hours in the day what with the next three months promising to be rather busy.

Ooooo, one more thing. We made a quick stop at the Serpentine Gallery in the picturesque surroundings of Hyde Park. There was a Yoko Ono exhibition on which I must say on the whole, I didn’t  find particularly inspiring, with the exception of these wishing trees outside the main entrance.

Ms Ono invites visitors to take a tag, and inscribe a wish to tie to the tree. Mother monster and I both made wishes, and I couldn’t resist posting some of my favourites here, starting with the lovely wishes of my mum.

 

3 Responses to “Fabric Heaven”

  1. scillagrace July 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I wish I had the opportunity and occasion to wear that dress in the window!

    • mistressofmonsters July 9, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

      Isn’t it gorgeous? That particular fabric was about £125 per metre. Crazy money, but so beautiful. x

  2. ooobop! July 10, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I had the pleasure of visiting those shops in Berwick Street a couple of weeks ago. One can only dream. Those prices are astronomical. Of course if it is for something ‘special’ of course you would but in the meantime, its the Goldhawk Road in Shepherds Bush for me! Amazing dress… I wish!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

