Moving On Up

8 Jul

Two days ago, Mr Monster and I got a letter informing us that our flat has been sold and we have to be out by Sept 9th, less than a month before our wedding day.

We were planning to move on in the near future anyway. Our home is beautiful, but not in the nicest area, with no outdoor space. We long for a house rather than a flat, with stairs and a pretty garden. We were casually looking around but had no plans to move until the wedding was all done and dusted. Sometime though, life gives you a bit of a shove. Since getting the news I have gone through every emotion in the book. From resignation, to grief, to excitement.  I think the main problem I have with the situation is that my vision of the next three months has shifted. Every bride surely visualises the run-up to her wedding, and in my mind’s eye I had a clear picture of how I hoped things would be. Since ‘The Letter’ though, my bridal journey is shrouded in the mist of uncertainty. I know that we will be fine, that we will cope with the move, and that we will find a perfect little home to start our married life, but I can’t help but feel a little like the rug has ben pulled out from under my feet, plonking me unceremoniously on my backside. I also feel that having taken on so much ‘D.I.Y’ for the wedding, I’m worried that my focus will be taken away from crafting beautiful things for the day whilst I’m wrapped up in packing boxes and shifting books.

I worry about our two lovely cats. When we moved into our current flat, we figured we’d be staying there until we could afford a house of our own, so having pets wouldn’t be a problem. Now however we are faced with the task of finding an understanding landlord who will allow us to move in with our little babies. A friend I chatted to today struck on a great idea of compiling them each a C.V. Complete with picture, hobbies, like and dislikes, to charm potential landlords and tug at the old heartstrings. Perfect! Always a solution to every problem.

In all, the emotion I want to focus on is that of excitement. Our first flat together has been a wonderful home, full of happy times blossoming romance, proposals and plans for the future, but it is right for us to be moving on. Not only that, but it also reminds us of how lucky we are to have such good friends. Offers of help with the move have been gratefully received, and one of my bridesmaids was on the phone to me as soon as she got wind of the news to make sure that I wasn’t having a breakdown. Nice to know that people are looking out for us.

I’m sure that Mr Monster and I will find a place suitable to start our life together. We have so many adventures on the horizon so why not get cracking with this one. Onwards and upwards it is.

4 Responses to “Moving On Up”

  1. Patch July 8, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Sounds as though you have got the right angle on this. It could so easily have been blind panic! Good to know you have lots of helpers too. Upwards, definitely.

  2. scillagrace July 9, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    The joy in change and movement sure beats the feeling of being stuck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The House-hunting Blues « Mistress of Monsters - July 12, 2012

    [...] just got home from my first round of house viewings since receiving ‘The Letter’, and I feel the need to spill my guts all over your computer screen so do excuse me while I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

