Gert Lush

10 Apr

Being the type of person that I am, I’m the first to hold my hands up and say that I don’t handle stress very well. For various reasons, stress levels are high at the moment and I’ve come to the point of no return, of needing to release the pressure or risk spontaneously-combusting into an inferno of irrational irritability. I have needed to do something not just for me, but for the sake of Mr Monster who’s seemingly endless patience must surely be being tested.

And so, yesterday I went out on ‘Operation De-stress’. I got us some half-price posh easter eggs with big smily faces, got some stuff you drop on your tongue which is supposed to promote calm, and as a final flourish, I popped into Lush.

Back when I lived at home years ago, I was a huge fan of the natural bath and body store. I would read each issue of the Lush Times cover-to-cover and could pretty much tell you what was in every product. Any time something new came out I would be straight in to grab some and give it a try. In recent years I’ve not really set foot in the place, partly as it can be so expensive, but mainly as Monster Towers doesn’t have a bath-tub, and somehow a shower just doesn’t seem to have the same magic.

Regardless of this, I felt the Lush mothership calling me. I walked in and instantly dissolved into a puddle on the floor, begging for help from the lovely staff. A wonderful woman took me under her wing, listened to my woes, and guided me around the store helping me find products to wash, scrub, and soak my stress away. I can’t thank her enough for being so kind to me.

Back at home, after a day of monstering (results to come later), I lit some candles in the wet-room, turned out t’big light, and gave in to relaxation, self-indulgence and wanton abandonment of the real world. It worked. It turns out a shower can be just as relaxing as a soak in the tub and I emerged from the bathroom feeling centred and a couple of steps further along the road to recovery. There is still a long way to go, but I am committed to sorting things out and bringing myself back from that horrible web of stress which is so easy to get caught up in.

Mr Monster…as you so rightly said last night , even if it takes us a year to sort things out, we still have 50 left, and quite honestly, I can’t wait to spend them with you.

Love, Love, Love x

3 Responses to “Gert Lush”

  1. Linda April 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Hope things are not too bad at the moment Jenny. I hate it when you are having a blue period. Sending my love and hugs to you and really do hope that you are feeling better soon. If you need to chat at any time, I am only a phone call away. Love you. xxx

  2. LauraBethDesign April 12, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Tell you something I love from LUSH, their massage bars are brilliant! Good for both of you to have some time relaxing eachother. We love the Each Peach one. It smells like refreshers! Last for ages and so nice to use. Hope you’re ok Jenny. xxx

    • mistressofmonsters April 12, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      Thanks so much. I am feeling a million times better for actually acknowledging how stressed I was feeling and taking steps to alleviate it. I did get one of the massage bars, aptly named therapy! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

