The Burbalies!

27 Dec

I can finally unveil a project which I have been working on for sometime and the results of which I have totally fallen in love with. These little chaps were created as Christmas presents for Mr Monster’s mum Linda, and her two sisters Lesley and Angela.

As little girls growing up, their vibrant imaginations dreamt up a community of creatures who lived at the bottom of the garden called, the Burbalies. They have remembered these little critters long into adulthood so Mr Monster set me the challenge of bringing them to life. He managed to subtly weedle out of his mum what they might have looked like, so we took the basics and added a few of our own ideas to try and get the feel of these mystical monsters who lived in the veg patch!

The Burbalies

The Burbalies

 

 

For Linda, her new friend lives in the strawberry bush and is great friends with the local snails:

The Burbalies

The Burbalies

 

 

Lesley’s little chum has made his home amongst these pretty purple flowers which my grandmother always used to call ‘Dancing Dollies’. His best friend is a little green caterpillar:

The Burbalies

The Burbalies

 

 

And for Angela, I found this little chap in amongst the flowerbeds playing with the butterflies:

The Burbalies

The Burbalies

 

I have enjoyed this project massively and there is a lot of love sewn into these little creations. It’s been killing me that I haven’t been able to blog them until now! Merry Christmas everybody!

 

 

4 Responses to “The Burbalies!”

  1. Mum December 27, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    What stunners! You are a clever crafter, I do hope they were well received?

    I’m now busy thinking up something from my past….. unsuccessfully.

  2. Joy December 27, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    This is so sweet!! I love that you brought to life these little guys…that is just fantastic. You are very talented.

  3. Laura Manning December 27, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    They are totally gorgeous! So much sweet detail! x

  4. Linda December 27, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    The Burbalies are indeed a part of our childhood and we have fond memories of those mischevious little creatures. Their favourite food was burbaligongalities( looking rather like maltesers). Many an adventure did they get up to. Captured on our Elizabethan(thats the brand name) cassette recorder. It is fabulous to see our Burbalies brought to life and we are very proud to own them. Thank you Jenny for the time, love and imagination that you poured into making these for us. I loved mine as soon as I saw her and she will sit with me in the craft room…..We have come up with some names which I am sure Jenny will post at a layer date. xxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 542 other followers

